Director of National Intelligence Fellows Award Winners Announced

February 10, 2006

ODNI News Release No. 3-06


Director of National Intelligence Fellows Award Winners Announced

Director of National Intelligence, John D. Negroponte, presented the first DNI Fellows Awards to nine renowned members of the Intelligence Community at a ceremony today in the Eisenhower Executive Office Building. The DNI Fellows Awards program recognizes and rewards outstanding technical achievement within the Intelligence Community.

“These distinguished experts are the best of the best -- professionals in whom we have enormous trust and confidence,” said John D. Negroponte, Director of National Intelligence. “As globalization spreads technology to the far corners of the globe, the Intelligence Community’s S&T leaders must devise ways to maintain our competitive advantage.”

A $200,000 research grant is awarded to each Fellow to perform government intelligence technology research. Grants may be applied to fund current or future research initiatives and may be used to support research assistants within their organization, contract to external research groups, or to inaugurate new research programs.

“The DNI Fellows program provides opportunities for our brightest science and technology talent across the intelligence agencies to pursue their innovative ideas and to grow human capital,” said Dr. Eric C. Haseltine, Associate Director of National Intelligence for Science and Technology. “With few formal obligations, the Fellows’ only obligation is to meet quarterly to describe their work and explore S&T collaboration opportunities across the Intelligence Community. That’s the simple beauty of this program.”

DNI Fellows are nominated by the science and technology organizations of the Intelligence Community and selected annually by the Office of the Associate Director of National Intelligence for Science and Technology. They are chosen based upon their outstanding technical contributions, the expectation of significant technical advances based upon their track record of achievement, and the potential for the DNI fellowship to facilitate subsequent technical work and collaboration across the Intelligence Community.

Award Winners

Dwight Williams, Ph.D.

Defense Intelligence Agency

Dr. Williams serves as the Principal Nuclear Physicist in the Defense Intelligence Agency’s Science and Technology Brain Trust within the Directorate for Measurements and Signatures Intelligence (MASINT) and Technical Collection.  He earned his Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees in Nuclear Engineering from North Carolina State University and his Ph.D. in Nuclear Engineering from the University of Maryland.

Thomas Ager

National Geospatial Intelligence Agency

Mr. Ager is the Associate Chief Engineer for Advanced Geospatial Intelligence in the Acquisition Engineering Office of the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency. He received a Master of Arts degree in Geography in 1982 from the University of Hawaii and his Master of Science degree in Geodetic Engineering in 1988 from Virginia Tech.

Duncan McCarthy

National Geospatial Intelligence Agency

Mr. McCarthy is the Technical Director for the Geospatial Intelligence Advancement Testbed East. He received a Bachelor of Science degree in Geology in 1991 from Case Western Reserve University and a Master of Science degree in Information Technology in 1997 from George Mason University.

Randall C. Rogers

National Reconnaissance Office

Mr. Rogers is the Technical Director for Applied Signals Intelligence Technology in the National Reconnaissance Office’s Technical Enterprise. He is a graduate of Michigan State University.

Richard D. Ridgley

National Reconnaissance Office

Mr. Ridgley is the Program Manager for Foundational Technologies in the Advanced Technology Group of the Advanced Systems and Technology Directorate. He is a graduate of the University of Maryland and Frostburg State University.

Stephen Smalley

National Security Agency

Mr. Smalley is a senior computer systems researcher in the National Information Assurance Research Laboratory at the National Security Agency. He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Science and Mathematics from Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology.

The names of three DNI Fellows award recipients are not included in this news release because of the sensitive positions they occupy in their organization.

Media interested in interviewing Dr. Eric C. Haseltine, Associate Director of National Intelligence for Science and Technology, on the DNI Fellows Awards Program should contact the ODNI Public Affairs Office at (202) 395-7957.