Identity, Credential, and Access Management (ICAM) is the set of security disciplines that establish trust and interoperability among organizations that want to share information. Organizations look for assurances that partners with whom they wish to share are implementing policies and standards in a manner worthy of trust and that support interoperability before information sharing can occur. The ICAM landscape includes information sharing at the Sensitive But Unclassified (SBU), Secret, and Top Secret levels of information access.

ICAM facilitates this information sharing through seven disciplines:


  • Identity Management
  • Credential Management
  • Access Management
  • Bring Your Own Identity
  • Authentication
  • Authorization
  • Federation

ICAM supports the National Strategy for Information Sharing and Safeguarding (NSISS) priority objective to engage in responsible, secure information sharing within and across classified and unclassified security domains.