Standards, Guides & Best Practices

Standards, Guides and Best Practices

Structured, standards-driven approaches to technology and enterprise data management are the foundation for responsible information sharing that protects privacy, civil rights, and civil liberties. Standards provide a common lexicon to enable information exchanges.


The ISE Common Information Sharing Standards (CISS) program provides standards for technology implementation, information sharing processes, and products for the ISE. The CISS program focuses on two types of standards:

Functional standards


These standards are rules or guidelines for creating and sharing reports or other documents. An example of a functional standard developed by ISE mission partners is the Nationwide Suspicious Activity Reporting (SAR) Initiative (NSI). The ISE-SAR Functional Standard includes the business rules and formats for exchanging SARs that were agreed to both by operating organizations (frontline law enforcement) and privacy and civil liberties advocacy groups.

Technical standards


These standards are the schemas or frameworks that enable technical data exchanges between systems. Learn more by checking out blog posts about technical standards.


Links to ISE Guides and Best Practices:



HSIN Videos

Homeland Security Information Network users explain how the trusted network supports their homeland security mission operations to share sensitive but unclassified information.

ISE Training

Core Awareness Training provides an overview of the ISE and includes a significantly expanded discussion on privacy, civil rights, and civil liberties protections.


ISE mission partners at all levels of government work to put safeguards in place to ensure the protection of privacy, civil rights, and civil liberties of citizens.